Subway: The Hipster and the Construction Worker

“Hey, I’m sorry to bother you, but are you an architect by any chance?”

“Que?”

“Oh, I’m sorry. Do you speak English?”

“Ah, si. Yes, I speak English. What did you ask?”

“I was wondering if you’re an architect.”

“No, why?”

“Umm, you’ve got a poster tubes in your hands. I’m an architecture student and I have one of those for technical drawings.”

“Oh, I see. No, sorry, I am not an architect.”

“Are you a draftsman?”

“No, this is just something a guy asked me to hold for him.”

“What do you do?”

“I work in construction, man.”

“Oh…umm, that’s cool. You guys get to do some fun stuff.”

“Not really, it’s hard work.”

“That’s true. Have you done any interesting buildings?”

“If you like apartment buildings and condos, I guess.”

“Those are the most important ones–people need somewhere to live, right?”

“Right.”

“So you’re not like, into Frank Gehry or anything? Or other architects?”

“No, man. I don’t pay much mind to that stuff. It’s work, you know?”

“Sure, sure, yeah, man. Well, this is my stop.” <Atlantic Ave>

“Later, dude.”

 

Ex-Soviet immigrant turned wanna-be scribe. I bite off more than I can chew, but at least I've got good teeth.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archive
Shrine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,128 other followers

Follow me on Twitter
